Check Us Out!  


The History of The Evansville Stamp Club

A salesman from New York, selling office supplies, came to Andres Store in Evansville, Indiana in September, 1929. He asked if there was a stamp club in Evansville. The clerk referred him to two men, Arthur Romerhaus and Henry A. Meyer. Romerhaus ran a story in the Evansville Courier asking anyone interested in stamp collecting to come to Andres Store. The following people showed up: Henry A. Meyer, Arthur Romerhaus, J.L. Cooprider, William Hay, Leon Moorabian, Harry Hopkins, John W. Walton, Henry Dannatell and Mrs. Pilar Leich. These individuals were the nucleus and charter members of the Evansville Stamp Club. The club was organized October 2, 1929.

Meetings were informal over the next several years, swapping stories of how members started collecting stamps. Membership cards were first issued in 1932. Dues were one dollar a year. The club had its first exhibit in 1933 and ribbons were awarded. In 1934, Major Guy W. Camp came to the Evansville area. He showed the club members how to organize and run a stamp club. Officers were elected later that year. They were: Guy Camp - President, Arthur Romerhaus - Secretary and William Hay - Treasurer. Mr. Hay served as treasurer until his death in 1970.

Currently, the Evansville Stamp Club meets once per month, on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm. Our meetings consist of club business, stamp auctions and interesting philatelic programs. Once per year, the club sponsors Evanspex, which is Indiana's longest running stamp and postcard show.






Evansville Stamp Club

Evansville, Indiana USA 

Our Club Meets On The
Third Tuesday Of Each Month